Legs and Lungs

81527407e6e604ba5798cc446d35e12f

Mountain biking in the Chiltern hills kicks my arse, I’ve missed it.

Out of the car to change shoes in the rain and drizzle I know the hills are going to be tough.

Within minutes I’m  covered in mud with my glasses misted my vision a blur.

The first climb has my lungs gasping with my legs pumping.

The front wheel skips off the ground as I power up.

I stay seated for traction leaning forward trying keep the front wheel down.

My lungs are compressed as I attempt to fill them with every breath.

I want this climb over so I push harder, my muscles burn they demand oxygen!!

Lungs scream out trying to accommodate.

I’m aware of every breath as I hear the air with every gasp, I feel it in and out of my throat.

Steeper it gets down a gear I go, no let up!!

I loose traction in the back wheel, I feel it spin.

Lost momentum.

Arghhhhhhh!!

Again and again.

I hate this! I really hate this!! I love this!

Two mountain bikers fly by going down ” it’s easier this way” I hear a shout.

I don’t want it easier.

Quads are alive, they’re singing, I look at them, they look blue.

Filled with blood demanding oxygen.

The screams turn to yells.

Gasping turns to rasping as I breath faster and harder.

Rocks and flints make the front wheel jump and skip.

I’m on the steepest section.

I put everything in to it.

Ten, fifteen maybe twenty seconds I’m up it.

I’m  trying to catch my breath now trying to catch up on the demand I’ve just placed on my body.

Legs are spinning as the climb becomes easier.

Gear change no let up.

Every second I want this over I want this to end. Knowing that I won’t give in.

The agony.

The ecstasy as I near the top.

All to soon I’m  flying down.

Mud, water, grit fly into my face.

I’m chewing grit, I feel it on my teeth.

Covered now the sweat runs down my face mixed with mud.

All to soon I’m  at the bottom.

Time to go up.

Over and over again I repeat this!!

This it what I came for.

I’m in between Rage and Sanity.

Rage-in-Sanity.

2 responses to “Legs and Lungs

  1. Hi Steve, I’ve been greatly enjoying your blog and am hoping to attempt some of these events myself – would you be able to email me charles1993@yopmail.com as I’d love to find out more about your training regimes, particularly for the 3hr30 fan dance? Many thanks!

    Like

    • I included the yopmail as I didn’t fancy putting my real email on the open here as it opens it up to spam but hopefully we can get in touch.

      Like

Leave a comment